Header logo is ps

Department Awards

Scientific Awards





  • Highly cited article: "A Quantitative Analysis of Current Practices in Optical Flow Estimation and the Principles Behind Them" by Deqing Sun, Stefan Roth, and Michael Black, is cited by Thompson Reuters as one of three highly cited articles published in the Int. J. of Computer Vision (IJCV) since 2014.
    Michael Black Deqing Sun
  • The FAUST dataset was awarded the "Dataset Award" at the Eurographics Symposium on Geometry Processing 2016.  The award encourages and recognises the importance of the distribution of high-quality datasets on which geometry processing algorithms are tested. The creators of the dataset are Federica Bogo, Javier Romero, Matthew Loper, and Michael Black.  The work originally appeared in the  IEEE Conf. on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition (CVPR) 2014.    
    Federica Bogo Javier Romero Matthew Loper Michael Black


  • The Middlebury Dataset was awarded the 2015 IEEE Mark Everingham Prize for service and contributions to the computer vision community. Michael Black was part of the team behind the optical flow benchmark.
    Michael Black
  • Jonas Wulff.  Outstanding Reviewer Award.  ICCV 2015.
    Jonas Wulff
  • Ali Osman Ulusoy, Andreas Geiger, and Michael J. Black. Best Paper Award, International Conference on 3D Vision (3DV), 2015, for the paper "Towards Probabilistic Volumetric Reconstruction using Ray Potentials."
    Osman Ulusoy Andreas Geiger Michael Black
  • Andreas Geiger and Chaohui Wang: GCPR 2015 Best Paper Award
    Andreas Geiger Chaohui Wang
  • Federica Bogo: Third prize at the Science2Start competition.
    Federica Bogo
  • Michael J. Black: elected foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, class for engineering sciences. - More Information
    Michael Black
  • Andreas Geiger: KIT Doctoral Award for his PhD thesis
    Andreas Geiger


  • Andreas Geiger: Ernst-Schoemperlen-Prize for his PhD thesis, awarded by the KIT Center for Mobility Systems
    Andreas Geiger


  • Michael J. Black: ICCV Helmholtz Prize 2013
    Michael Black
  • Gerard Pons-Moll: BMVC 2013 Best Science Paper for Metric Regression Forests for Human Pose Estimation with Jonathan Taylor, Jamie Shotton, Aaron Hertzmann and Andrew Fitzgibbon.
      - More Information
    Gerard Pons-Moll
  • Andreas Geiger: CVPR 2013 Best Paper Runner-Up Award
    Andreas Geiger
  • Juergen Gall: Emmy-Noether-Program
    Jürgen Gall